Skip to content

Zealot on the move.

Look. Judicial appointments are political. Because they’re political, they’re important. The law is a moving target. It changes and bends with each decision. We all know this. Roe v. Wade, Miranda v. Arizona, Brown v. Board of Education – cases like these change the world. So you want thoughtful, fair judges on the bench – judges who are smart and impartial, judges who can put aside personal opinion in order to fairly adjudicate for the rest of us.

But that’s not how the system works. Instead, we get extremists lobbying for jurists who hold specific political views. Especially conservatives. Conservatives push hard for their own kind. Dress it up as ‘federalism’ or ‘states’ rights’ – but what these would-be judges want is to degrade the individual rights and liberties of the underprivileged and the under-represented. You want the right to pollute? No problem. The right to keep the government off your land? No problem (unless you’re American Indian of course). The right to crush local business with your giant national warehouse store? Go for it. But, say, you want the right to sue your state employer for firing you because you have breast cancer. Forget it. You want the right to sue your rapists in federal court? Don’t be silly – violence against women isn’t a federal offense.

I mention this all today because of the probable confirmation of Jeffrey Sutton to the Court of Appeals for the 6th Circuit. He’s a partner at J0nes Day (one of those soulless mega-firms) and a law professor at Ohio State University. He used to clerk for Scalia. He has consistently argued against the individual’s right to fight injustice and discrimination. He has no judicial experience. He should not be confirmed.

Feminist Majority opposes Sutton confirmation

ADA Watch opposes Sutton confirmation

Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law opposes Sutton confirmation

Senator Harkin opposes Sutton confirmation

{ 1 } Comments

  1. George W. Bush | April 29, 2003 at 6:05 pm | Permalink

    Tired of our Gov’t morons? Get even?

    It worked for the Spam King, so why not do the same to the morons
    who now want to control our lives?

    Send them junk mail! And lots of it!

    Got a postal mail address on someone? There are thousands of sites
    willing to send free samples, bibles, pamphlets, sales catalogs, so
    load up a proxy, fill out a form and send that governmental moron a
    message from the people. Do you get packets of coupons? Wear
    gloves and fill out a few in the name of your favorite governmental
    person who has done so much to screw over the American way of
    life. Have a way to add someone to a telemarketer list? Do it.
    Here are a few addresses and phone numbers to start off with.

    George W. Bush
    1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, DC 20500
    (877) 200-4899

    John and Linda Poindexter
    10 Barrington Fare
    Rockville, MD 20850
    (301) 424-6613

    Attorney General John Ashcroft
    950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
    Washington, D. C. 20530
    Office of Public Affairs
    (202) 616 – 2777

    The Honorable (insert senators name)
    United States Senate
    Washington, D.C. 20510

    But don?t stop there. SHARE, SHARE, SHARE! Got Bush?s private
    Crawford address? Post it. And don?t stop with the top dogs, is
    there a DA in your area stomping on human rights? Is your state rep,
    mayor, state judge, or any other governmental person been doing some
    shady backroom deals? Are you paying for it? Oh, wait, if you are
    paying taxes, then I suppose you are! Post those address too. The
    more the merrier and hopefully with enough anonymous speech by the
    people, they might wake up and realize WE are not very happy and WE
    can make their lives as much hell as they are making ours.

    If you are going to waste my tax dollars, at least I get a say
    in how they uselessly get spent,

    Power to the People.

    Old, but a few more striped from other posts:

    *=========================*
    Senate Judiciary Committee
    *=========================*

    Democrats

    Senator Patrick Leahy, Ranking Member
    433 Russell Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-4242
    Email: senator_leahy@leahy.senate.gov

    Senator Edward Kennedy
    315 Russell Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-4543
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~kennedy/main.cfm?whichpage=email&whichmenu=1

    Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
    221 Russell Senate Office Building
    Washington, D.C. 20510
    (202) 224-5042
    Email: senator@biden.senate.gov

    Senator Herb Kohl (Wisconsin)
    330 Hart Senate Office Building
    Washington, D.C. 20510
    (202) 224-5653
    Email: senator_kohl@kohl.senate.gov

    Senator Dianne Feinstein (California)
    331 Hart Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-3841
    Email: senator@feinstein.senate.gov

    Senator Russell Feingold (Wisconsin)
    716 Hart Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510-4904
    (202) 224-5323
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~feingold/services/contactrdf.html

    Senator Robert Torricelli (New Jersey)
    113 Dirksen Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-3224
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~torricelli

    Senator Charles Schumer (New York)
    313 Hart Senate Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-6542
    Email: senator@schumer.senate.gov

    Republicans

    Senator Orrin Hatch, Chairman (Utah)
    131 Russell Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    202/224-5251
    Email: senator_hatch@hatch.senate.gov

    Senator Strom Thurmond (South Carolina)
    217 Russell Senate Bldg.
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-5972
    Email: senator@thurmond.senate

    Senator Chuck Grassley (Iowa)
    125 Hart Senate Office Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-3744
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~grassley/webform.htm

    Senator Arlen Specter (Pennsylvania)
    711 Hart Senate Office Building
    Washington DC 20510
    (202) 224-4254
    Email: senator_specter@specter.senate.gov

    Senator Jon Kyl (Arizona)
    724 Hart Senate Building
    Washington, D.C. 20510
    (202) 224-4521
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~kyl/con_form.htm

    Senator Mike DeWine (Ohio)
    140 Russell Senate Building
    Washington, DC 20510
    (202) 224-2315
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~dewine/request_form.html

    Senator Jeff Sessions (Alabama)
    493 Russell Senate Office Building
    Washington, D.C. 20510
    (202) 224-4124
    Email address: Go to http://www.senate.gov/~sessions

    Senator Bob Smith (New Hampshire)
    307 Dirksen Senate Office Building
    Washington, D.C. 20510
    202-224-2841
    Email: opinion@smith.senate.gov

    Or if you just wish to email your Senators

    AL
    Jeff Sessions
    Senator@sessions.senate.gov

    Richard C. Shelby
    Senator@shelby.senate.gov

    AK
    Frank H. Murkowski
    email@murkowski.senate.gov

    Ted Stevens
    Senator_stevens@stevens.senate.gov

    AZ
    Jon Kyl
    Info@kyl.senate.gov

    John McCain
    Senator_mccain@mccain.senate.gov

    AR
    Tim Y. Hutchinson
    Senator_hutchinson@hutchinson.senate.gov

    Blanche Lambert Lincoln

    CA
    Barbara Boxer
    Senator@boxer.senate.gov

    Dianne Feinstein
    Senator@feinstein.senate.gov

    CO
    Wayne Allard
    http://www.senate.gov/~allard/webform.html

    Ben Nighthorse Campbell

    CT
    Christopher J. Dodd
    Sen_dodd@dodd.senate.gov

    Joseph I. Lieberman
    Senator_lieberman@lieberman.senate.gov

    DE
    Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
    Senator_biden@biden.senate.gov

    William V. Roth, Jr.
    Comments@roth.senate.gov

    FL
    Bob Graham
    Bob_graham@graham.senate.gov

    Connie Mack
    Connie@mack.senate.gov

    GA
    Max Cleland
    Senator_max_cleland@cleland.senate.gov

    Paul Coverdell
    Senator_coverdell@coverdell.senate.gov

    HI
    Daniel K. Akaka

    Daniel K. Inouye
    Senator@inouye.senate.gov

    ID
    Larry E. Craig
    Larry_craig@craig.senate.gov

    Mike Crapo

    IL
    Richard J. Durbin
    Dick@durbin.senate.gov

    Peter G. Fitzgerald

    IN
    Evan Bayh
    http://www.senate.gov/~bayh/WebMail.html

    Richard G. Lugar
    Senator_lugar@lugar.senate.gov

    IA
    Charles E. Grassley
    Chuck_grassley@grassley.senate.gov

    Tom Harkin
    Tom_harkin@harkin.senate.gov

    KS
    Sam Brownback
    Sam_brownback@brownback.senate.gov

    Pat Roberts
    Pat_roberts@roberts.senate.gov

    KY
    Jim Bunning

    Mitch McConnell
    Senator@mcconnell.senate.gov

    LA
    John B. Breaux
    Senator@breaux.senate.gov

    Mary L. Landrieu
    Senator@landrieu.senate.gov

    ME
    Susan M. Collins
    Senator@collins.senate.gov

    Olympia J. Snowe
    Olympia@snowe.senate.gov

    MD
    Barbara A. Mikulski
    Senator@mikulski.senate.gov

    Paul S. Sarbanes
    Senator@sarbanes.senate.gov

    MA
    Edward M. Kennedy
    Senator@kennedy.senate.gov

    John F. Kerry
    John_kerry@kerry.senate.gov

    MI
    Spencer Abraham
    Michigan@abraham.senate.gov

    Carl Levin
    Senator@levin.senate.gov

    MN
    Rod Grams
    Mail_grams@grams.senate.gov

    Paul Wellstone
    Senator@wellstone.senate.gov

    MS
    Thad Cochran
    Senator@cochran.senate.gov

    Trent Lott
    Senatorlott@lott.senate.gov

    MO
    John Ashcroft
    John_ashcroft@ashcroft.senate.gov

    Christopher S. Bond
    Kit_bond@bond.senate.gov

    MT
    Max Baucus
    Max@baucus.senate.gov

    Conrad R. Burns
    Conrad_burns@burns.senate.gov

    NE
    Chuck Hagel
    Chuck_hagel@hagel.senate.gov

    J. Robert Kerry
    http://www.senate.gov/~kerrey/pages/webform.html

    NV
    Richard H. Bryan
    Senator@bryan.senate.gov

    Harry Reid
    Senator_reid@reid.senate.gov

    NH
    Judd Gregg
    Mailbox@gregg.senate.gov

    Bob Smith
    Opinion@smith.senate.gov

    NJ
    Frank R. Lautenberg
    Frank_lautenberg@lautenberg.senate.gov

    Robert G. Torricelli
    Senator_torricelli@torricelli.senate.gov

    NM
    Jeff Bingaman
    Senator_bingaman@bingaman.senate.gov

    Pete V. Domenici
    Senator_domenici@domenici.senate.gov

    NY
    Daniel Patrick Moynihan
    Senator@dpm.senate.gov

    Charles E. Schumer

    NC
    John Edwards

    Jesse Helms
    Jesse_helms@helms.senate.gov

    ND
    Kent Conrad
    Senator@conrad.senate.gov

    Byron L. Dorgan
    Senator@dorgan.senate.gov

    OH
    Mike DeWine
    Senator_dewine@dewine.senate.gov

    George V. Voinovich

    OK
    James M. Inhofe
    James_inhofe@inhofe.senate.gov

    Don Nickles
    Senator@nickles.senate.gov

    OR
    Gordon Smith
    Oregon@gsmith.senate.gov

    Ron Wyden
    Senator@wyden.senate.gov

    PA
    Rick Santorum
    Senator@santorum.senate.gov

    Arlen Specter
    Senator_specter@specter.senate.gov

    RI
    John H. Chafee
    Senator_chafee@chafee.senate.gov

    Jack Reed
    Jack@reed.senate.gov

    SC
    Ernest F. Hollings
    Senator@hollings.senate.gov

    Strom Thurmond
    Senator@thurmond.senate.gov

    SD
    Tom Daschle
    Tom_daschle@daschle.senate.gov

    Tim Johnson
    Tim@johnson.senate.gov

    TN
    Bill Frist
    Senator_frist@frist.senate.gov

    Fred Thompson
    Senator_thompson@thompson.senate.gov

    TX
    Phil Gramm

    Kay Bailey Hutchison
    Senator@hutchison.senate.gov

    UT
    Robert F. Bennett
    Senator@bennett.senate.gov

    Orrin G. Hatch
    Senator_hatch@hatch.senate.gov

    VT
    James M. Jeffords
    Vermont@jeffords.senate.gov

    Patrick J. Leahy
    Senator_leahy@leahy.senate.gov

    VA
    Charles S. Robb
    Senator_robb@robb.senate.gov

    John W. Warner
    Senator@warner.senate.gov

    WA
    Slade Gorton
    Senator_gorton@gorton.senate.gov

    Patty Murray
    Senator_murray@murray.senate.gov

    WV
    Robert C. Byrd
    Senator_byrd@byrd.senate.gov

    John D. Rockefeller, IV
    Senator@rockefeller.senate.gov

    WI
    Russell D. Feingold
    Russell_feingold@feingold.senate.gov

    Herb Kohl
    Senator_kohl@kohl.senate.gov

    WY
    Michael B. Enzi
    Senator@enzi.senate.gov

    Craig Thomas
    Craig@thomas.senate.gov

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *